Comelec En Banc Approves Resolution Assigning Random Names to Senatoriables in 2013 Polls

MANILA, Philippines — The Commission on Elections (Comelec) yesterday released en banc Resolution 9696 ordering a randomized naming system to be  assigned to Senatoriables qualified to run in next year’s national elections.

In an en banc resolution authored by Commissioner Romnick Sarmiento, the Comelec voted 5-2 to grant the petition filed by concerned citizens Keith Pagulayan, Patty De Punzalan, Rowena Luntian, Ramon Matikas Adlao and Jimboy Maharlika as represented by election lawyer Estrella Magdalena.

After last week’s filing of certificates of candidacy (COC) for senator ended, the petitioners noticed how some of the names of the candidates were  either very familiar, are just some old politicians making a comeback or relatives of incumbent government officials try to leverage the surnames of their relatives.

Ramon Adlao, one of the petitioners explains that, “the national election next year would have a level playing field if candidates would not rely on name recall. Oftentimes these politicians resort to popularity boosting antics, be it infomercials & tarps bearing their names.”

He added, ” Come election time, voters when faced with a ballot, have no choice but to vote for the names that are familiar to them, instead of making an educated vote based on a candidates platform or plan.”

“That is why we have asked Comelec to look into the possibility of assigning a random name for each qualified candidate, different from that of their actual given name,” said Rowena Luntian.

Based on the en banc resolution, the Comelec, upon the release of the final list of official candidates this December, will officially assign a random ‘campaign name’ to each qualified candidate. The assigned campaign name will be determined via an anagram of their given name.

an·a·gram/ˈanəˌgram/

Noun:
A word, phrase, or name formed by rearranging the letters of another, such as cinema, formed from iceman.

Comelec spokesman Jaime Jimenez gave an example, whereby if Cynthia Villar was indeed qualified and included on the final list, her name on the ballot as well as her name to be used during the entire campaign duration would be VALIANTLY RICHAs for Maria Ana Consuelo “Jamby” Madrigal, her assigned name would be RANDOMLY ACE AMUSING LABIA MAJORA

We asked Jimenez to provide us a sample list of anagrams for the candidates that Filipinos are more familiar with, to see if their names would still carry that “magic touch”. Below is the list:

  • Juan Miguel Zubiri (PMP/UNA) – Injure Zug Bulimia
  • Sen. Koko Pimentel III (PDP-Laban, re-electionist) – Poetlike Monk
  • Sen. Gregorio ‘Gringo’ Honasan (UNA, re-electionist) – A Gonorrhoea Gorging Sin
  • Ernesto Maceda (PMP/UNA) – Coarsened Mate
  • Rep. Joseph Victor ‘JV’ Ejercito (PMP/UNA) – Crevice Jotter Josh Poi
  • Grace Poe-Llamenzares (independent) – Gleam Clean Raze Poser
  • Puerto Princesa Mayor Edward Hagedorn (independent) – Grand Dead Whore
  • Ramon Magsaysay Jr. (Liberal Party) – Marjoram Gays Nays
  • Sen. Loren Legarda (NPC, re-electionist) – Order Anal Gel
  • Rep. Maria Milgaros Magsaysay (UNA) – I Am A Smarmy, Gaga As Rosily
  • Sen. Francis ‘Chiz’ Escudero (independent, re-electionist) – Craziness of Rude Chic
  • Rep. Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara (LDP) – Joy, Nausea And Grand Groan
  • Alan Peter Cayetano (Nacionalista Party-Liberal Party, re-electionist) – A Planetary Acetone
  • Paolo Benigno Aquino IV (Liberal Party) – I Am A Loving Pique On Baboon
  • Oliver Lozano (KBL) – Overall In Zoo
  • Victor Wood (independent) – I Vow Doctor

A sample campaign ad for the 2013 elections

According to the implementing rules & regulations (IRR) of Resolution 9696, “Candidates shall use their assigned names as if they were born with it. The names shall be applied to television advertisements, print ads, giveaway items such as, but not limited to, hats, fans, baller bands, calendars, t-shirts, briefs and etc. The official campaign names shall also be used when a candidate is being introduced or announced on-stage during campaign rallies.”

“We would be strict in implementing this rule, and anyone caught in violation of the IRR would be subject to disqualification immediately,” reiterates Comelec Chairman Chito Brillantes.

“If you can’t be honest during the campaign period, how do you expect Filipinos to trust you when you’re elected?”

The official campaign period for senatoriables will begin on February 2013.

23 thoughts on “Comelec En Banc Approves Resolution Assigning Random Names to Senatoriables in 2013 Polls

  1. Pingback: Candidates for 2013 Polls in Mad Dash to Learn Gangnam Style « So, What's News?

  2. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew where I could find a captcha tool for my comment form?
    Seems I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?

    Thanks a lot!

  3. Do you mind if I quote a small number of your blog posts as long as I provide credit and sources returning to your
    site: https://sowhatsnews.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/comelec-en-banc-approves-assignment-of-random-names-for-senatoriables-in-2013-polls/. I
    am going to aslo make certain to give you the appropriate anchortext hyperlink using your blog
    title: Comelec En Banc Approves Resolution Assigning
    Random Names to Senatoriables in 2013 Polls | So, What’s News?. Please make sure to let me know if this is ok with you. Thank you

  4. Heya, i ‘m a blogger same as you, and was curious if you ever tried those addthis.com follow me buttons and if they will be any good. I noticed they load quite a ton of code, so i am not certain if its indeed worth adding them, due the massive raise of KB of the total filesize. Do you have ever give it a shot? I am very interested to hear what you think about that? I would highly value if you could sent me a message to waldo_nathan@arcor.de if you have any working experience with those add-ons. Thx .. btw, luv the site since months!

  5. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to Ruby on Rails from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s trying none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on a variety of websites for
    about a year and i am worried about switching to an alternative platform.

    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net.

    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  6. Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work
    due to no back up. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  7. I completely adore your journal and find many of your post’s to be just what I’m looking
    for. can you offer guest writers to write content available for
    you? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on many of the matters you write with regards to here. Again, brilliant website!

  8. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

  9. Would you mind if I quote a several of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your site:
    https://sowhatsnews.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/comelec-en-banc-approves-assignment-of-random-names-for-senatoriables-in-2013-polls/. I most certainly will
    aslo be sure to give you the appropriate anchor-text hyperlink using your blog title:
    Comelec En Banc Approves Resolution Assigning Random Names to Senatoriables in 2013 Polls | So, What’s News?. Please be sure to let me know if this is okay with you. Thanks alot🙂

  10. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in
    the way of content so people could connect with it better.

    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
    1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  11. My wife and I utterly adore your article and find
    most of your article’s to be just what I’m browsing for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a article or elaborating on most of the matters you write about here. Once again, brilliant blog!

  12. Hey there! This is the second time visiting now and I really
    just wanted to say I truley get pleasure from reading your weblog.
    I decided to bookmark it at stumbleupon.com with
    the title: Comelec En Banc Approves Resolution Assigning Random Names to Senatoriables in 2013 Polls | So, What’s News? and your Domain name: https://sowhatsnews.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/comelec-en-banc-approves-assignment-of-random-names-for-senatoriables-in-2013-polls/. I hope this is fine with you, I’m making
    an attempt to give your fantastic blog a bit more publicity.
    Be back shortly.

  13. Hello there I am so delighted I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was looking on DuckDuckGo for something else, Anyhow I am
    here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more,
    Please do keep up the excellent b.

What did you think about this SATIRICAL article? Share your thoughts below.

